Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / IBR names 2009 Idaho Women of the Year 

IBR names 2009 Idaho Women of the Year 

The Idaho Business Review has announced its 2009 Idaho Women of the Year honorees. The 50 women will be featured in a glossy magazine publishing in the IBR on March 23, and honored at an awards dinner, beginning with a 6:30 p.m. cocktail reception, on March 26 at the Boise Centre on the Grove in downtown Boise.

The awards dinner is open to the public. Individual tickets are $60. A table sponsorship with 10 tickets is available for $750. Reservations can be made by calling Chris Smith at 639-3511 or e-mailing her at [email protected]

Here’s the list of this year’s recipients:

Laurie Appel, occupational therapist, Lotus Tree Sensory Integration Center, Boise
Pamela Baldwin, executive director, Interfaith Alliance and United Vision for Idaho
Jan Bennetts, deputy Ada County prosecuting attorney, Ada County Prosecutor’s Office, Boise
Sherry Bithell, retired educator, Boise Independent School District, Boise
Karena Boesel, membership representative, Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce, Boise
Anna Borchers Canning, planning director, City of Meridian Planning Department, Meridian
Addie Waxman Chan, instructor of Environmental Science & Ethics of Science, University of Phoenix Idaho Campus, Boise
Rachael Daigle, editor, Boise Weekly, Boise
Candy Dale, chief U.S. magistrate judge, U.S. District Court for the District of Idaho, Boise
Penny Dennis, vice president, McAlvain Design/Build Inc., Boise
Peg Dougherty, Idaho deputy attorney general, human services division, Idaho Office of the Attorney General, Boise
Hilarie Engle, executive director, Susan G. Komen for the Cure, Boise affiliate, Boise
Melanie Fales, executive director, Boise Art Museum, Boise
Tami Fisher, volunteer coordinator, Women’s & Children’s Alliance, Boise
Liz Fitzgerald, property manager, Unico Properties, Boise
Ashley Ford, principal land use planner, Rose Law Group Borton, Boise
Trudy Hanson Fouser, managing shareholder, Gjording & Fouser, Boise
Lynda Friesz-Martin, president, Lynda Friesz Public Relations, Boise
Sonia Galaviz, teacher, Endeavor Elementary School, Nampa
Raquel Guglielmetti, vice president of finance, Northwest Real Estate Capital Corp., Boise
Valerie Hadley, academic student mentor, University of Phoenix, Meridian
Tracy Hall, executive assistant to the mayor, City of Boise, Boise
Carol Hepworth, elementary school teacher, Independent School District of Boise City, Boise
Michelle Hicks, senior consultant, communication, Buck Consultants, Boise
Rachel Hurn, proprietor, Seasons Bistro Wine Bar & Catering, Eagle
Rep. Wendy Jaquet, Idaho state legislator, Idaho House of Representatives, Ketchum
Julie Johnson, co-owner, Flynn’s Saddle Shop, Boise
Lori Jones, owner/financial consultant, Investment Resources of America, Meridian
RaNae Jones, principal, Sage Valley Middle School, Nampa
Bessie Katsilometes, dean of academic programs, Idaho State University, Boise campus, Boise
Sen. Kate Kelly, Senate assistant minority leader, Idaho State Legislature, Boise
Holly Sue Kerns, owner and president, Kerns Brand Marketing, Boise
Shelby Kerns, executive director, Idaho Rural Partnership, Boise
Lonni Leavitt-Barker, co-owner, Big Horn Collectibles/Paloma Pewter, Eagle
Kelly Greene McConnell, partner, Givens Pursley, Boise
Cheryl McNeil, director of accounting, Thornton Oliver Keller, Boise
Karen North, director, health & welfare benefits, J.R. Simplot Co., Boise
Molly O’Leary, managing member, Richardson & O’Leary, Boise
Wendy Olson, senior litigation counsel, U.S. Attorney’s Office, District of Idaho, Boise
Debra Riedel, first vice president, wealth management, Smith Barney, Boise
Kelly Ryan Rush, vice president, sales and marketing, Clear Voice Telecom, Meridian
Dr. Lisa Scales, owner, Green Foundations Building Center; founder and president, Sustainable Futures, Garden City
Kail Seibert, partner, Capitol Law Group; founding principal and managing member, Ahead of the Kurve, Boise
LeAnn Simmons, Canyon County director, United Way of Treasure Valley, Boise
Paula Smyly, senior vice president/commercial lending manager, Mountain West Bank, Coeur d’Alene
Dene Kay Thomas, president, Lewis-Clark State College, Lewiston
Erin Tippetts, owner/director/teacher, Elkhorn Kid’s Camp and Smart Start Preschool, Boise
Shawna Van Beek, Realtor/owner, River Run Investments; founder, Camp River Run, Meridian
Susan Williamson, principal, William Howard Taft Elementary School, Boise
Rachel Winer, executive director, Idaho Smart Growth, Boise

About admin


  1. I am new to this blog, I must admit it ranks up there among one of the most unique blog ideas I have ever seen.

  2. I’m so lucky to have discovered this blog page. You practically told me incisively what I preferred to hear and then some. Beautiful publication and cheers again for doing this no toll! ! .