Home / News / Idaho Faces / Idaho Faces-Week of 7/29/11

Idaho Faces-Week of 7/29/11

Susan Olson named a certified legal manager

Hawley Troxell Executive Director Susan Olson recently passed the Association of Legal Administrators’ certified legal manager exam. She is the first CLM in the state; the certification demonstrates she has mastered the knowledge, skills and abilities to operate at a high level of expertise in the field of legal management.

Olson, who has an MBA from Boise State University and a bachelor of science degree from Lewis-Clark State College, is a member of the Idaho Chapter Association of Legal Administrators. She served as president of the organization from 2007 to 2009.

She has been with Hawley Troxell for 10 years.

Boyle awarded bar’s 2011 Distinguished Lawyer Award

On July 13, United States Magistrate Judge Larry M. Boyle was awarded the Idaho State Bar’s 2011 Distinguished Lawyer Award. The award recognizes attorneys who have distinguished themselves through exemplary conduct, professionalism, and years of dedicated service to the legal profession and to the citizens of Idaho.

Boyle was nominated for the award by members of the bar and a judicial colleague in recognition of his 39 years in the legal profession, including 25 years as a state and federal judge.

Boyle received his law degree from the University of Idaho nearly 40 years ago and has served the legal profession and the federal and state judiciary with honor and distinction. He has served as a state district judge, justice of the Idaho Supreme Court, and as a federal judge.

Pfleger, of Farmers Insurance, completes agents’ course

Kevin Pfleger, Farmers Insurance agent in Boise, has completed the Insurance Agent Career Accelerator Course at the University of Farmers in Agoura Hills, Calif.

The course helped Pfleger learn best practice methods surrounding staffing, business management, marketing and sales. The curriculum is built for top-performing Farmers agents and gives them a solid understanding of the various issues they face in their agency every day.

Smith wins Business Champion of Year honor

D.L. Evans Bank has announced that Toni Smith, vice president and branch manager in Meridian, has been named the 2011 Idaho Women in Business Champion of the Year. This award goes to an individual who has fulfilled a commitment to the advancement of women’s business ownership.

Smith joined D.L. Evans Bank in June 2003. During that time, the Meridian branch won the title Small Business of the Year-Meridian.

She serves on the boards of directors of many non-profit organizations and participates in groups such as Kiwanis and the Meridian Chamber of Commerce.

Chambers joins Coldwell Banker Tomlinson

Max Chambers has joined Coldwell Banker Tomlinson Group in the company’s Capitol Boulevard office. He is a student and has studied at both Vassar College and Boise State University. H

At Coldwell Banker Tomlinson Group, he plans to specialize in residential resale and assisting first-time homebuyers.

Kamerer named president, CEO of WOW Logistics

WOW Logistics, a warehousing and distribution company with a 400,000-square-foot distribution center in Jerome, has hired Howard Kamerer to serve as the company’s president and chief executive officer. Kamerer comes to WOW from Kamerer Consulting in Chicago.

He will be the first president in the company’s history that is not from one of the owners’ families. He is succeeding Matt Oswald, who has been with WOW since 2004.

Children’s Home Society chooses new board

The Children’s Home Society of Idaho, a Boise-based non-profit dedicated to improving the lives of children in the community, has named its board of directors for the organization’s 2012 fiscal year, which begins July 1, 2011 and ends June 30, 2012.

Patsy Fedrizzi has been named president of the board. She is a past president and long-time supporter of Children’s Home Society of Idaho. An Idaho native, she is actively involved in several other local non-profit organizations, and is a local philanthropist.

Other officers of the Children’s Home Society board include Laura Shealy, past president; Teresa Alexander, secretary and CEO of Children’s Home Society of Idaho; Brian Doster, treasurer; and Margo Neef and Dan Sprague, members at large. Board members include Terry Bowman, Anne Cordum, Jim Graham, Jesse Hamilton, Jo Hopkins, Mark Houston, Victoria Loegering, Gary Morton, Scott Schoenherr, Bonnie Schwenkfelder, Brian Scigliano and Marilyn Whitson.

About IBR Staff