Home / News / Idaho Faces / Star Fire District commissioners resign

Star Fire District commissioners resign

Commissioners Gunnar Howarth, John Miller and Jeff Sedivec, of the Star Fire Joint Protection District, resigned March 8.

The commissioners’ resignations triggered a provision in Idaho State Code requiring the governor to appoint a new commission for the district, an independent jurisdiction comprising commissioners elected by residents of northwest Ada County and northeast Canyon County.

The commissioners accept responsibility for not addressing the districts current and complex issues. They say they will fully cooperate with the governor’s office to resolve those issues.

The Eagle Fire District and the Star Fire District had operated under a joint powers agreement since June 2012, but that agreement has been abandoned. The Eagle Fire District will provide provisional fire services for 180 days until the governor appoints a new commission.

About IBR Staff