Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / Business News / Leaders in Law event recognizes 21 Idaho lawyers

Leaders in Law event recognizes 21 Idaho lawyers

A group photo of the 2016 Idaho Business Review Leaders in Law (Krista McIntyre was not present). Photo by Pete Grady.

A group photo of the 2016 Idaho Business Review Leaders in Law (Krista McIntyre was not present). Photo by Pete Grady.

More than 150 Idaho legal professionals gathered together Nov. 17 on the 17th Floor of the Eighth and Main building in Boise to honor 21 of their own who were deemed Leaders in Law.

The Idaho Business Review has been holding its law awards program since 2013 and to date, 87 have received awards.

Four have received the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award: In 2013 Donald L. Burnett Jr., then interim president for the University of Idaho; for 2014, Idaho Attorney General Lawrence G. Wasden; for 2015, Scott D. Hess; and for 2016, Idaho Supreme Court Justice, and, for two terms, Chief Justice – Linda Copple Trout.

The annual program invites lawyers to nominate those in their profession who are exceptional. A peer review process winnows the field down by rating each applicant on accomplishments, leadership within the profession, volunteerism and community leadership.

This year, the 21 were honored with an awards ceremony that followed a networking reception. Awards were handed out in alphabetical order, with an introduction for each honoree, with one exception. The Lifetime Achievement Award was the culmination of the evening’s ceremony as Hess spoke about receiving the honor and what it has meant to him. Then, he lavished praise on many of his colleagues in the room, ending with an introduction for Justice Trout.

Trout spoke about her career, joking that at first, she thought that receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award must be wrong as she was surely too young for it. She then grew serious as she relayed what it was like to be the first woman justice on the Idaho Supreme Court, then thanked her peers for the acclamation.

View the 2016 Leaders in Law magazine digital edition and photos from the awards event here:

2016 Leaders in Law

Thomas J. Angstman, Partner, Angstman Johnson PLLC

A. Dean Bennett, Partner, Holland & Hart LLP

Michael Bixby, Educator, College of Business and Economics, Boise State University

Joe Borton, Partner, Borton Lakey Law & Policy

Matthew Bradshaw, Up & Coming Lawyer, Holland & Hart LLP

Bret Busacker, Partner, Holland & Hart LLP

Merlyn W. Clark, Partner, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley

Bradlee R. Frazer, Partner, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley

Gabriel Hamilton, Associate, Holland & Hart LLP

Jordan Heller, In-house Counsel, St. Luke’s Health System

Julia Hilton, In-house Counsel, Idaho Power

Pam Howland, Partner, Idaho Employment Lawyers PLLC

Neil D. McFeeley, Partner, Eberle, Berlin, Kading, Turnbow & McKlveen, Chtd.

Krista McIntyre, Partner, Stoel Rives LLP

Christine E. Nicholas, Partner, Moffatt, Thomas, Barrett, Rock & Fields, Chtd.

Allison Parker, Associate, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley

Andrea J. Rosholt, Up & Coming Lawyer, Moffatt, Thomas, Barrett, Rock & Fields, Chtd.

Norman Semanko, In-house Counsel, Idaho Water Users Association, Inc.

Timothy Tyree, Partner, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley

Brian L. Webb, Sole Practitioner, Brian Webb Legal

Linda Copple Trout, Lifetime Achievement Award, Idaho Supreme Court


About Jeanne Huff

Jeanne Huff is the special sections editor at IBR, editor of Women of the Year, Accomplished Under 40, CEOs of Influence, Money Makers, Leaders in Law, Corporate Guide to Event Planning as well as editor of custom publications including Welcome to Boise, Dining Decisions, Idaho Heartland Living and Travelog.