Home / People / Five Idaho artists awarded fellowships in performing and media arts

Five Idaho artists awarded fellowships in performing and media arts

Five Idaho artists have been awarded $5,000 fellowships in performing and media arts  by the Idaho Commission on the Arts. The awards are issued every three years.

Jonathan Armstrong

Jonathan Armstrong, director of jazz studies at Idaho State University, co-founded the modern jazz quartet Slumgum and the electronic psychedelic group Pitch Like Masses and has toured the United States, Europe, and Japan. He has performed with bands led by Bennie Maupin, Mike Barone, Vincent Gallo, Vinny Golia, and Dan Rosenboom and composed music for film, theater, and dance.

David Alan Earnest

Composer David Alan Earnest has written for the Boise Philharmonic, Langroise Trio, Caritas Chorale, Idaho Dance Theatre, and others. His works have been performed in Germany, Austria, Italy, and Idaho. Earnest also received a fellowship in 2010.

Becky Kimsey

Becky Kimsey has written eight plays, primarily produced at Stagecoach Theater and Boise Little Theater. Her work has been selected for the New York, New Work theater festival three times.

Kyle Morck

Kyle Morck is the co-director of LED, where he collaborates on fusions of dance, film, and music. Morck specializes in video projection design and related media. He was a filmmaker for the Trey McIntyre Project and is a founding board member of Homegrown Theatre.

Denise Simone

Denise Simone is a founding member of Company of Fools and served as co-producing artistic director for 20 years. She has acted with Boise Contemporary Theater, Theatre Virginia, Barksdale Theatre, the National Shakespeare Theatre, and many Company of Fools productions. She also writes, teaches and directs. Simone received the Governor’s Award for Excellence in the Arts in 2014.

About IBR Staff