Home / News / Education / Idaho State University fills two interim positions

Idaho State University fills two interim positions

photo of debra ronneburg

Debra Ronneburg

photo of karen appleby

Karen Appleby

Karen Appleby will serve as interim provost of Idaho State University. She will begin serving in the role this month and hold the position until a successful candidate is hired. Earlier this semester, Laura Woodworth-Ney announced her plans to accept another opportunity away from Idaho State. Woodworth-Ney’s last day at the University will be mid-January.

Appleby first came to Idaho State in 2004 as an assistant professor in the Department of Sports Science and Physical Education. During her time as a Bengal, she also served as interim dean of the College of Education for two years. She is currently the director of ISU’s faculty development and instructional enhancement center, the Program for Instructional Effectiveness. Under her leadership, the PIE has created new and innovative approaches to faculty development on campus.

Appleby received her bachelor’s degree from Hanover College and her master’s degree and doctorate from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. In 2010, she was recognized as the ISU Distinguished Teacher and was also the recipient of the 2013 ISU Achievement Award, which recognized her “personal actions, generosity, and self-sacrifice on behalf of the university by a faculty member.”   

Idaho State University has also named Debra Ronneburg interim dean of the College of Technology. She will assume the interim position in January after Scott Rasmussen retires from the University. She was named associate dean of the College of Technology in 2012, and prior to that, she was the director of student services in the College of Technology for 12 years. In total, she has worked at Idaho State for more than 24 years, with a majority of her career in student services.

Ronneburg is a past president of the Idaho Association of Registrars and Admissions Officers Association and has served on various statewide committees, including Idaho’s Future II Committee to discuss statewide strategies to prevent summer melt among Idaho’s high school graduates. She has served on the University’s NWCCU Standards and Core Theme Subcommittees for accreditation self-studies and reports and is a member of the University Assessment Review Committee. She is a 2016 graduate of the Idaho Career and Technical Education Leadership Institute. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English, a Master of Public Administration degree, and plans to complete her Doctor of Educational Leadership in Higher Education Administration this year. All three degrees were earned at Idaho State. 

About IBR Staff