Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / Excellence in Finance / 2021 Leaders in Law and Excellence in Finance honorees announced 

2021 Leaders in Law and Excellence in Finance honorees announced 

photo of leaders in law

The 2019 Leaders In Law honorees gather for a group photo during the awards event on Nov. 14 at Eighth & Main. Photo by Pete Grady

The Idaho Business Review (IBR) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Leaders in Law awards, which recognize top legal professionals in Idaho for leadership, vision, innovation, professional achievements, competitiveness, mentorship and community service. The 35 winners range from relative newcomers making their mark on the industry to legal aces with decades of experience and are represented across seven awards categories: associate, educator, in-house counsel, partner, sole practitioner, unsung hero and up and coming. One honoree has also earned a lifetime achievement award.

IBR has also selected 24 individuals as the 2021 Excellence in Finance finalists, which honors outstanding performance in the banking, corporate, investment, education and professional sectors. Again, nominations came from all over the state based on the financial professionals’ track record of success and leadership and fiscal accomplishments, which set a high bar for their company and Idaho’s business economy.

This year, as we did last year (virtually), we will be holding the Leaders in Law awards together with the Excellence in Finance awards. However, this year, the co-branded event will be held in person, allowing the law and finance professionals the chance to network together at a reception.

“The Leaders in Law and Excellence in Finance awards event is a celebration of the many accomplishments of these legal and financial professionals from across the state,” said Cindy Suffa, Idaho Business Review publisher. “It’s a great opportunity for honorees who work for legal institutions, banks or companies in other sectors such as technology, manufacturing and retailing, and who also work together in many cases exchanging client referrals, to build and strengthen new and established relationships as they come together in one event.”

The awards reception will be held at Boise Centre East 4:30-7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 16. Tickets are available now. All of the honorees will be profiled in special publications that will be distributed with the Idaho Business Review on Nov. 19.



Katie Daniel, Smith + Malek, PLLC

Alexandra Grande, Holland & Hart LLP

Jenn Hanway, Fisher Hudson Shallat

Shannon McCarthy, Johnson & Monteleone


Katherine Ball, University of Idaho College of Law

Wendy Gerwick Couture, University of Idaho College of Law

Jessica Long, University of Idaho College of Law

In-House Counsel

Simao Avila, St. Luke’s Health System

Eric Bjorkman, Albertsons

Clay Gill, J.R. Simplot Company

Rob McQuade, Association of Idaho Cities

Jeff Neumeyer, United Heritage Financial Group

Steven Schossberger, Oregon Potato Company

Stephanie C. Westermeier, Saint Alphonsus Health System


Benjamin J. Allen, Silver Valley Law, LLC

John Ashby, Hawley Troxell

Michael Bartlett, Bartlett & French, PLLP

Chris Brown, Fisher Hudson Shallat

Alyson Foster, Dempsey Foster PLLC

Mikela “Mike” French, Bartlett & French, PLLP

Steve M. Frinsko, Hawley Troxell

Sheli Fulcher Koontz, Angstman Johnson

Alison Johnson, Holland & Hart LLP

Luke Malek, Smith + Malek PLLC

Robert A. Maynard, Perkins Coie

Sarah Reed, Hawley Troxell

Sole Practitioner

Matthew Bradshaw, ClearVenture Legal PLLC

Unsung Hero

Autumn Cain, Fisher Hudson Shallat

Up and Coming

Betsaida Chavez Garcia, Immigrant Justice Idaho

Stefan Hasselblad, Holland & Hart LLP

Kaci Peterson, Perkins Coie

Lifetime Achievement

Justice Roger S. Burdick, Idaho Supreme Court



Jennifer Bender, Academy Mortgage Corporation

Suzi Boyle, Castle & Cooke Mortgage

Patrick Clayton, NeighborWorks Boise

Todd Cooper, Idaho First Bank

Matt Craner, Westmark Credit Union

Caleb Dimick, Bank of Idaho

Kelly Galloway, Westmark Credit Union

Ashley Griesshammer, Lovevery

Cheryl Guiddy, Harris CPAs

Lance Hatzenbeller, Idaho Central Credit Union

Dave Heffner, Hayden Beverage Co.

Wes Jost, Zions Bank

Matt Lyman, Raymond James & Associates

Susan Olson, Hawley Troxell

Judith K. Ramos, Idaho Community Foundation

Christopher Reid, First Federal Saving Bank of Twin Falls

Debra Riedel, Raymond James & Associates

Scott Schlange, KeyBank

Christy Stein, Cooper Norman

Scott Summerlin, Starlifter Wealth Management

Shanon Taylor, Bank of Idaho

Fernando Veloz, MS Administrative Services

Tonya Westenskow, First Interstate Bank

Kevin Wilson, Shamrock Foods


*Article post was updated on October 11, 2021

About Lauren Bonneau