Boise law firm achieves recognition in Best Lawyers 2024 edition

Chloe Baul//October 3, 2023//

Best Lawyers Hawley Troxell

Hawley Troxell’s Boise office is located in the downtown Wells Fargo building. Photo by Pete Grady Photography

Boise law firm achieves recognition in Best Lawyers 2024 edition

Chloe Baul//October 3, 2023//

Listen to this article

Hawley Troxell announced that 45 of its attorneys have been recognized in the 2024 edition of “The Best Lawyers in America” across diverse practice areas ranging from Bet-the-Company Litigation to Corporate Governance Law.

Best Lawyers’ recognition is exclusively derived from peer reviews. According to a release, their methodology aims to capture a precise consensus among prominent legal professionals regarding the capabilities of their colleagues within the same geographical region and practice areas. Best Lawyers employs a transparent survey process to gather meaningful assessments of legal service quality.

“Our belief has always been that the quality of a peer-review survey is directly related to the quality of its voting pool,” the peer review guide Lawyers stated in the press release. 

In this edition, Christopher Cook, Chelsea Porter and Brent Wilson from Boise, along with Daniel J. Gibbons and Amy Mensik from Spokane, have earned recognition as Best Lawyers Ones to Watch.

Additionally, James L. Martin, Brad P. Miller, Thomas J. Mortell, Richard G. Smith from Boise, and Stanley M. Schwartz from Spokane have been singled out as Lawyers of the Year within their respective practice areas.

The 45 attorneys selected by their peers for inclusion in Best Lawyers represent a broad spectrum of practice areas:

Boise, ID Office:

  • Tyler J. Anderson (2016) Litigation-Construction
  • John Ashby (2017) Employment Law-Management, Litigation-Labor & Employment
  • Brian Ballard (2005) Real Estate
  • Howard D. Burnett (2010) Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Corporate, Health Care
  • Merlyn W. Clark (1995) Arbitration, Bet-the-Company, Commercial Litigation, Ethics & Professional Responsibility, Mediation
  • Christopher Cook** (2023) Real Estate
  • Lynnette M. Davis (2021) Construction, Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Labor & Employment
  • Bradlee R. Frazer (2024) Copyright
  • Richard F. Goodson (2011) Bankruptcy & Creditor Rights/Insolvency & Reorganization, Real Estate
  • Kenneth C. Howell (2015) Banking & Finance, Corporate
  • John C. Hughes (2023) Business Organizations, Tax
  • Paula L. Kluksdal (2016) Banking & Finance, Real Estate
  • David W. Knotts (2014) Construction, Insurance, Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Insurance, Professional Malpractice-Defendants
  • James L. Martin* (2008) Commercial Litigation, Insurance, Litigation-Insurance
  • John Stanley McGown, Jr. (2007) Tax, Trusts & Estates
  • Craig L. Meadows (2001) Bet-the-Company, Commercial Litigation, Insurance, Litigation-Banking & Finance, Litigation-Insurance, Litigation-Labor & Employment, Litigation-Real Estate, Litigation-Securities, Mediation
  • Brad P. Miller* (2018) Employment Management, Litigation-Labor & Employment
  • Nicholas G. Miller (1997) Corporate Governance, Corporate, Public Finance, Securities/Capital Markets
  • Thomas J. Mortell* (2013) Construction, Health Care
  • Mindy Muller (2023) Insurance, Litigation-Health Care
  • Carsten A. Peterson (2018) Litigation-Insurance
  • Mark C. Peterson (2022) Insurance, Workers’ Compensation-Employers
  • Chelsea Porter** (2023) Municipal
  • Richard A. Riley (2010) Real Estate
  • Sheila R. Schwager (2019) Banking & Finance, Bankruptcy & Creditor Rights/Insolvency & Reorganization, Litigation-Bankruptcy
  • Cathy R. Silak (2021) Appellate, Commercial Litigation, Mediation
  • Richard G. Smith* (2021) Tax
  • Michael M. Stoddard (2019) Public Finance
  • Stephen R. Thomas (2010) Commercial Litigation, Insurance
  • Ronald L. Williams (2010) Energy
  • Brent R. Wilson** (2021) Banking & Finance, Bankruptcy & Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency & Reorganization, Litigation-Bankruptcy
  • Tracy L. Wright (2020) Litigation-Insurance

Coeur d’Alene office:

  • Brian T. Rekofke (2010) Medical Malpractice-Defendants

Idaho Falls office:

  • Marvin K. Smith (2024) Corporate
  • Marvin M. Smith (2018) Litigation-Insurance
  • Benjamin Ritchie (2023) Workers’ Compensation-Employers

Pocatello office:

  • John A. Bailey (2008) Appellate, Insurance, Litigation-Labor & Employment, Personal Injury Litigation-Defendants

Reno, Nevada office:

  • Rita L. Ricks (2010) Real Estate

Spokane, Washington, office:

  • Michael D. Currin (2018) Banking & Finance
  • Daniel J. Gibbons** (2021) Banking & Finance
  • Amy M. Mensik** (2021) Labor & Employment Management
  • Richard A. Repp (2018) Corporate
  • Stanley M. Schwartz* (2007) Land Use & Zoning, Municipal, Real Estate
  • William M. Symmes (2013) Commercial-Litigation, Labor Law Management, Litigation-Labor & Employment