Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Home / News / Business News / IBR announces 2015 Leaders in Law

IBR announces 2015 Leaders in Law

Leaders in Law

Idaho Attorney General Lawrence Wasden was the 2014 Leaders in Law Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. Photo by Pete Grady

For the third time,  Idaho Business Review is recognizing Leaders in Law, chosen from the state’s top law professionals.

About 100 law professionals were nominated and about 50 sent back applications. A dozen selection committee members, including past awardees, a representative from the University of Idaho, and Idaho Business Review editors winnowed the list to 24.

The winners include partners, an associate, up-and-coming lawyers (in their first 10 years and on their way up), a solo practitioner, in-house counsels, educators, an unsung hero, and one person who will be recognized for a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Leaders in Law program “provides an opportunity to recognize those who have excelled not only in their professional lives but who are also leaders in terms of their community and civic engagement. The nominees are all exceptional candidates and are deserving of recognition,” said Terri Muse, assistant dean of external relations for the University of Idaho College of Law.

Selection committee member Kinzo Mihara, an attorney for Howard Funke & Associates PC in Coeur d’Alene, and a 2013 Leaders in Law honoree, said the task of choosing was daunting.

“It is difficult to assign numerical criteria to folks who have given incalculable contributions to our profession. All the candidates had impressive accomplishments and were highly recommended by well-regarded sources,” he said.

Nicole Pantera, also from the 2013 Leaders in Law class and associate general counsel at Boise State University, said she enjoyed reviewing the applicants. “There were some really impressive folks.”

An awards reception is slated for 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. Nov. 17 in the Idaho Room in the Eighth and Main building in downtown Boise. A magazine featuring the 2015 Leaders in Law will be published with the Idaho Business Review Nov. 20. The University of Idaho is the presenting sponsor and United Heritage is a gold sponsor. For more information or to purchase tickets, click here.

IBR 2015 Leaders in Law

Associate: Steve Frinsko, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley LLP

Educator: Lee Dillion, University of Idaho College of Law; Tenielle Fordyce-Ruff, Concordia University School of Law

In-house Counsel: Brian Buckham, Idaho Power Company; In-house Counsel William Nary, Meridian City

Partner: Maria Andrade, Andrade Legal; Thomas Chandler, Holland & Hart LLP; Bradley J. Dixon, Stoel Rives LLP; Vaughn Fisher, Fisher Rainey Hudson; Debra Young Irish, Irish Bernhardt LLP; Paula Landholm Kluksdal, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley LLP; Sheila Schwager, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley LLP ; Todd Lakey, Borton-Lakey Law and Policy; Christopher Pooser, Stoel Rives, LLP; Jennifer Schindele, Bevis, Thiry, & Schindele PA; Stanley J. Tharp, Eberle, Berlin, Kading, Turnbow & McKlveen Chtd.; John Zarian, Parsons Behle & Latimer

Sole Practitioner: Bob Aldridge, Robert L. Aldridge, Chartered

Unsung Hero: Dana Olson Reid, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley LLP

Up & Coming Lawyer: Sunrise Ayers, Idaho Legal Aid Services Inc.; Anna Eberlin, Holland & Hart LLP; Matthew Gunn, Barnum Howell PLLC; Sarah Reed, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley LLP

Lifetime Achievement Award: Scott D. Hess, Holland & Hart LLP


About Jeanne Huff

Jeanne Huff is the special sections editor at IBR, editor of Women of the Year, Accomplished Under 40, CEOs of Influence, Money Makers, Leaders in Law, Corporate Guide to Event Planning as well as editor of custom publications including Welcome to Boise, Dining Decisions, Idaho Heartland Living and Travelog.