Meet 2023’s Accomplished Under 40 Award winners  

jdowd//March 23, 2023

Mark Bannister, J.D., Dean College of Business and Economics, Boise State University, addressing last year's winners. (Photo by Pro Image Event Photography)

Meet 2023’s Accomplished Under 40 Award winners  

jdowd//March 23, 2023

Mark Bannister, J.D., Dean College of Business and Economics, Boise State University, addressing last year’s winners. (Photo by Pro Image Event Photography)

Forty of Idaho’s brightest young stars will share the spotlight in June when Idaho Business Review honors them with this year’s Accomplished Under 40 Award, presented by Boise State University’s College of Business and Economics (COBE) 

 Through its AU40 awards program, IBR honors dynamic people in industry, government and the nonprofit sector who will be the decision-makers of tomorrow. The AU40 awards rules are simple: Prospective honorees must be a resident of Idaho or working in the state, and they must be under the age of 40 as of June 15, 2023. 

Determining the finalists involves a two-step nomination and application process: First, an individual must be nominated by the community at large. This nomination could come from anyone who knows the individual well — be that colleagues, friends or family members. Self-nominations are also accepted.   

The second step requires the person who is nominated to fill out an application for consideration and to submit letters of recommendation, resumes and other pertinent background information. Once the application window closes, a judging panel of past winners undertakes the task of scoring the many qualified candidates, taking into account the categories of professional achievement, leadership, mentorship and community service. The top-scoring candidates, based on a unified scoring system, are then named the 40 finalists.  

“We are lucky to have such amazing young talent in our state and I look forward to recognizing this impressive AU40 class!” said IBR Publisher Cindy Suffa. 

This year’s program will be co-located with IBR’s Icon Awards, which honor Idaho’s change-makers over the age of 50 — pioneers who are in a class of their own, continue to kick-start innovation and champion their industry through professional creativity and leadership. It’s a unique opportunity for these two generations to get in a room together to network and learn from each other.   

This year’s awards program to honor the AU40 and Icon Award winners will be held in person at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, June 15,2023, at Boise Center. Tickets are available now. 

The leaders will be profiled in a printed magazine (two separate publications for AU40 and Icon Award winners.) to be distributed at the awards event and then released to subscribers on June 23, 2023. The 2023 Icon Award honorees can be found here. 

Be sure to congratulate the 40 accomplished individuals listed below:  

Emily Allen, Idaho Voices for Children 

Emily Border, Cradlepoint 

Christopher Bowers, The Bradley Group LLC 

David Brandon, Miller Nash LLP 

Christopher Cook, Hawley Troxell Ennis & Hawley LLP 

Catherine Doyle, St. Luke’s Jerome Family Medicine 

Jessica Durham, Les Bois Real Estate School 

Haley Falconer, City of Boise 

Aaron Geurts, Zions Bank 

Steve Hanna, Micron Technology Inc. 

Kelsey Haylett, Northwest Bank 

Emily Hendrickson, Integra DeLamar Mining Co. 

Sarah Hugues, Perkins Coie LLP 

Kara Jackson, J.R. Simplot Company 

Emily Jahsman, Idaho State University 

Steven Jenkins, City of Caldwell 

Andrea Lohse, Saint Alphonsus 

Corey Magnum, WaFd Bank 

Ana Martinez Tapia, Immigrant Justice Idaho 

Mustafa Mashal, Idaho State University 

Kelsey Miller, SHIFT boutique 

MacArthur Minor, Lamb Weston 

Texie Montoya, Boise State University 

Drew Morgan, BHB Structural 

Jeffrey Nielson, Stoel Rives LLP 

Kate Phipps, Tree City Therapy and Assessment 

David Rush, Record Breaker Rush 

Amalka Samarasekera, HP Inc. 

Courtney Scheffelmaier, Junior League of Boise 

Henry Shin, Idaho National Laboratory 

Lindsay Shrum, Balsam Brands 

Colleen Smith, Stris & Maher LLP 

Brad Stokes, University of Idaho (Extension) 

Eric Tarver, Wood Tarver Financial 

Jennifer Visser, Idaho Power Company 

Erica White, Idaho State Dept. of Agriculture 

Faye White, Building Hope Today 

Sierra White, Boise Valley Economic Partnership 

Ashley Jo Winters-Glenn, Idaho National Laboratory 

Alejandro (Alex) Zamora, Wilder School District